skip to content

Mayneord Phillips Summer Schools


The trust

The Trust was established in 1991 to commemorate the work of the late Professor W V Mayneord, and Major C S Phillips. Both were pioneers in the development of radiation physics applied to medicine. The three founding bodies of the Trust were the Institute of Physics, the British Institute of Radiology and the Institute of Physical Sciences in Medicine (now the IPEM). Each body nominates three trustees who serve for three years. The object of the Trust is to provide post-graduate education for PhD level students, by means of biennial Summer Schools held at St Edmund Hall, Oxford. This has proved to be an excellent venue, much appreciated by the faculty and students alike, who revel in the atmosphere of a traditional Oxford college, and enjoy the chance to go punting or tour the city in an open topped bus, during the very few breaks from concentrated study. Each School accommodates up to 30 students and all have helped to establish friendships that are likely to endure throughout the working lives of the participants. Student and Faculty members have come from the UK, Europe and the Americas. Funding provided by the IOP, BIR and IPEM enables some students to receive bursaries to subsidise their costs of attendance

About Us | Site Map | Contact Us | Copyright © 2008 The Mayneord Phillips Trust